Faculty and staff can use this tool to automatically and safely copy data from their P: drive to their OneDrive.  The OneDrive Migration Assistant is available at https://drivemigration.uconn.edu/.

Background

At UConn, faculty, staff, and students have several options for remote file storage, including Enterprise Files Services (EFS), Microsoft OneDrive, and Google Drive. On EFS, you are provided storage for your personal work files (those that others on your team cannot access). This is typically assigned the letter P for personal and referred to as the P: drive. EFS is hosted in the UConn Data Center on the Storrs campus. To access this resource off-campus, you need to establish a remote connection with Direct Access, VPN, or Remote Desktop.

You are also provided with storage space through the University’s licensing agreements with Microsoft on OneDrive and with Google on Drive. Because they are cloud-hosted services (hosted on a remote server farm) and are independent of the UConn network, you can sign in to these services on any device with an Internet connection.

Faculty, staff, and student employees should store work-related files on OneDrive and not Google Drive. OneDrive meets security and privacy requirements that Google Drive does not.

P: Drive vs. OneDrive

Both the P: drive and OneDrive have the same level of protection (i.e., meet HIPAA and FERPA requirements) and are appropriate storage solutions for institutional data. The advantage OneDrive has over the P: drive is that files stored on the service are accessible from any device with an Internet connection. The service also enables file sharing and can sync with your local computer.

Purpose of the Drive Migration Assistant

The Drive Migration Assistant facilitates a transfer to OneDrive. It makes a copy of the files in P: drive and adds them either directly into your OneDrive account or into a folder that you specify within OneDrive. The process is automated; it does not require a remote connection, mapping to the P: drive, or logging into OneDrive.

No files are deleted during the process. Once the process is complete, you will have a duplicate set of files in the two locations. Changes to files on one service will not be reflected on the files in the other.